I’m at the Milwaukee Secure Detention Facility (MSDF), an institution in the Wisconsin Prison System (WPS), participating in the Earned Release Program (ERP). Yesterday was a “Training Day”.  We have no idea what our ERP Coordinators were doing.  In the morning we started on our own and in the afternoon we watched a video called Alibi vs. Denial by Delbert Boone.  It was ok.  I still think if your making excuses so you can drink, you are in denial.  But really this is word play.  If I’m drinking, it doesn’t’ matter what I call it.  It’s death in the bottle.  We wrapped up.  Today was a little more eventful.  We watched videos that support “The Price of Freedom is Living Free” by Jack D. Cooper.  They were ok.  At one point the group went around the room and identified a childhood hero.  Mine was the Six Million Dollar Man, Lt. Col. Steve Austin.  Ms. Grey, our group coordinator, pushed me to see that I like him because of my desire to exert control over my life as I felt powerless over what was happening.  I wonder if this is the right place to do this.  I also found out the room next door to us the guys there are all ready to fight each other, making the problems in my cell look like child’s play. I’ve never been in a drug and alcohol rehab before but its kind of an interesting environment for it.  Afterwards we had our community meeting.  It’s a pretty slow day too.  Obviously, I’m not here for the pleasant environment but to learn.  I’ll continue to take what I can from this experience and try to grasp all of this.  Next week I was assigned the quote to share for the community meeting.  It’ll be “I love you but I’m not your hostage”, from yours truly.  I’ll explain what I mean then.  Off to our best meal of the week, Pizza!

Leave a Reply

