I’m a the Milwaukee Secure Detention Facility (MSDF), an institution in the Wisconsin Prison System (WPS), participating in the Earned Release Program (ERP).  The media mistakenly keep calling this program “Early Release Program” thinking that is what ERP stands for.  It doesn’t.  I stands for “Earned Release Program”.  Got that cleared up?  Good. 🙂  Well, last night was horrid for me, not just because of the usual reasons, but the mattress that was on my bunk when I got here was extremely thin so my back is extremely sore.  I figure I’ll eventually get used to it.  Forget about asking for a new one, you’ll just get laughed at.  The other 3 cellies went to program about 8 but Andre returned about 10.  It seems the program coordinator had seen him wearing his shower shoes instead of the standard issue blue slippers, said something to him about it, another younger inmates laughed at him, and he snapped at him, then at the coordinator, who then told him to go to his cell for the rest of the day.  Andre was very worried they’d give him a ticket for disrespecting staff and that he might get kicked out of ERP for this.  He also has had a history of a lot of warnings for various violations.  He reminded me a lot of me as he paced the floor and how the anxiety junkie completely ruled him at this point.  As it turned out, he was stressed for nothing, not even getting a warning.  Andre felt like he needed to stop being friendly with other inmates as it is what seemed to give this younger inmate a license to “act the fool with him”.  But I filed all of this in my brain as what not to do once I start on December 13th.  The psychiatrist of the jail stopped by our cell asking how we were doing.  Malike Pearl asked what would happen if he went back on his meds.  She replied he’d be dropped from the program and moved to another floor.  I didn’t know that about Malik.  But I’ve covered what I think of this blanket policy.  The staff member who did the evaluation yesterday brought the mental health information on Brown County for when I get out.  It was good she didn’t forget. 

On TMJ4 today, Jeff Wagner, Courtney Gerrish and crew talked about how they wanted to see the ERP eliminated because someone high on heroin killed someone else, and they had graduated from the ERP.  I wonder if they know these are the only programs I know of (Challenge Incarceration Program as well) that actually pretend to do any kind of rehabilitation.  I wonder if they read this blog.  I wish they would as they would see life isn’t always black and white.  But I’m praying I sleep better tonight and thank God for getting me into ERP when he did.  I’m not sure it’ll be here all that much longer.

Leave a Reply

