I’m at the Fox Lake Minimum Correctional Institution (FMCI), a facility in the Wisconsin Prison System (WPS).  As you might recall, I was initially diagnosed and treated for cancer while I was at the Waukesha County Jail.  Since I’ve been in prison, Waukesha Community Hospital sent me bills and now Waukesha County Collections is coming after me.  My power of attorney (POA) has been working to resolve this as it’s our understanding that you’re not responsible for medical bills while in custody.  I decided to see if anyone here would have any ideas on what to do.  I have little faith in anyone I’ve met in the WPS so far to show initiative other than the psychiatrist here but some of you readers suggested I do so I gave it a shot.  I sent a request to Ms. Greer, the social worker, advising her of the situation.  She called me into her office and stated she’d never seen a county do this before and wanted to see the paperwork leaving the impression she was going to look into it.  I was floored.  She has a fairly good reputation among the inmates but I hadn’t realistically expected an ally to be created.  She told me to submit an information request to Greer advising her to do so.  The entire next day went with no response.  Greer almost always responds to such requests the same day, I’m told.  I wrote another request that night.  The next day, I had the last step of my root canal.  I saw something there I hadn’ t seen in a at the other places I’ve been.  For narcotics taken by inmates, not only do they watch you take it, but they crush the medication prior to it being given to the inmates, I’m sure to prevent inmates from cheeking the meds to give to others or hoard them.  The last step of the root canal was uneventful.  Basically it got filled in.  They declined to do the other needed work.  I understood that. They’ve got an 8 month backlog of people needing dental work at FMCI.  I was told the Department of Corrections (DOC) is trying to make a dental waiting list that isn’t dependent on what facility you’re in.  Sounds like a good idea to me.  After I got back to my unit, there was a response to my second information request to Ms. Greer.  It said “Let me know if there is anything else you need from me re: this”.  I’m thinking to myself what the heck?  I can easily understand why some inmates just give up when trying to handle things.  They are without a lot of tools being on the inside and then they get frustrated making the effort to resources available to them.  If I hadn’t been writing this I might have given up too.  But tonight I’ll submit another information request conveying my understanding of what Ms. Greer wanted and going to do.  No sense in giving up on her as I really don’t think she is trying to blow me off. 

Leave a Reply

