I’m at the Fox Lake Minimum Correctional Institution (FMCI), a facility in the Wisconsin Prison System (WPS).  I had the second part of my root canal done today.  One of the differences in my trip to the dentist and your trip to the dentist is there is no idle chatter about the weather, how you are doing or your job.  I kind of prefer this actually because the dentist isn’t trying to make conversations while digging in my mouth.  I always did find that annoying.  Today’s trip was to apply filler to the enamel I guess.  The only snag was the infection he had hoped to eliminate with  antibiotics last time was still there, so he rinsed it with peroxide.  If there was a difference this time it was me.  This time I was running a low grade fever and my sinuses were plugged.  If you’ve ever gone to the dentist in such condition, it makes it suck even more.  Once he finished, he said, “All done”, and walked away.  The hygienist told me I’d be back in 2 weeks once the enamel had hardened. I returned to Unit 9 and my bunk.  I’ve spent a good part of the last 2 days there because of my touch of the flu.  If I’d had to go to work though I would have.  I’m not alone on the flu thing.  A lot of guys are running around here sniffling and such.  I am not surprised.  As you might imagine, this is a ripe environment for the spreading of the flu.  A day ago I saw a younger man at the sinks in the bathroom bent over and blowing his nose into the sink.  It took everything in me to keep from berating this person.  But prior experience has taught me that I would accomplish nothing by talking to him.  But its just another reason I can’t wait to have my own place again someday.  It’s part of being in prison, part of the penalty for my crime.  Deprivation of a basically hygienic environment is not thought of as a part of your sentence by judges, lawyers or defendants, but trust me, it should be.  But really, how could the DOC do it any differently, assuming that they’d actually want to?  Where there is a mass of people, germs will flourish.  They can’t provide things like bleach because it can be used as a weapon so the situation is what it is.  My attitude has changed since my early entries on this.  It’s just acceptance of the fact that these conditions are beyond my control and stressing on it will do no good.  Still, I recommend Howie Mandel or other germaphobes stay out of prison.  It won’t be good for their psyche.  

Comments
  1. Alana says:

    Oh yes the flu, son has it, plus he too had a dental appointment. They pulled 8 teeth today, WHY????? Then they put him on a waiting list for partials. Guess they said he might be on the list longer than he will be before his release date. Yet before they pulled them they told him they planned to give him partials before he left. In fact the hygienist said “we can’t just take your teeth without replacing them….well after it was over they said your on a waiting list… Then he says I have no reason to spend $7.50 to see the doctor for my flu symptoms. I am only making 12 cents an hour for half hour work days five days a week. Not really sure what percentage of that weekly 1.50 pay will be sent to his release fund.. So he has 16 more months and none of the programs he needs are available, and neither is his AODA programs or even a NA meeting for at least 18 months. But the good news is he got a job this week. LOL

  2. Alana says:

    Oh yeah, lets hope Howie doesn’t have to go to prison.

Leave a Reply

