I’m at the Fox Lake Minimum Correctional Institution (FMCI), a facility in the Wisconsin Prison System (WPS).  It was quite the day.  Pops went to the hole after the put off inspection took place.  No one is quite sure how or why they happened to pick him to have his bunk inspected.  But as it turned out he had every kind of contraband he could get his hands on – hooch, tobacco, etc.  when they tore apart his bunk.  In fact, 3 hours after inspection the guards were still going through his things and getting them boxed up.  Everyone has long known he was engaged in things but we turned a blind eye.  I did get called to see the doctor today and I asked them to make sure he had blankets.  When I was in chemotherapy I remembered how cold I got.  They were noncommittal.  I thought if these are the compassionate ones he’s in trouble.  But in all fairness to them, it sounds like his problems predate my arrival by a considerable amount.

Then this morning I saw something I’ll probably never see again.  I got up at 4:50 am and as I approached the desk I saw an officer… and an inmate…. singing together!  They were trying to figure out a song title and first she (the officer) would sing, then the inmate, then the two together.  I grinned from ear to ear.  I’ve never seen such a sight!  They must have seen me grinning, because the guard commented that she never sees me sing.  She is correct.  As others will attest, when I sing in the shower the water goes the other way!  They don’t want to hear me sing.  But I said nothing.  I don’t really want, well really its that my default position is to not pursue personal relationships, in general, not just with blue shirts (guards).  So that’s probably a defect in my personality.

Then tonight I got some great news!  They are finally going to let me have my property!  Which includes my electronics like my TV!  Finally!  I’ll be able to NOT watch Maury Povich and Jerry Springer if I choose!  And I’ll get to listen to NPR when I want.

Finally, I got to get canteen after awhile.  Can you imagine the reaction of a  man dying of thirst given lots of water  That’s right, yours truly is on a bit of a sugar buzz!  It’s just because I haven’t had any sweets for a long time.  I’ll settle down tomorrow.  But for now, it’s good to be me. 

Like I said, an eventful day it has been.  I’m going to go bounce off the walls and actually be sociable for awhile.  Now that’s a mood that rarely strikes me here! 

If your wondering about the title to this entry, there was a scene in the production of “West Side Story” that had a cop and a character singing together.  Which after this mornings duet inspired me to name it so. 

Leave a Reply

