The PRC Hearing

Posted: July 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m at the Jackson Correctional Institution (JCI), a facility in the Wisconsin Prison System (WPS).  While canteen was being handed out, another inmate indicated I was on the PRC Hearing list for the following day.  This was quite unexpected as the Dr. Saul report from our meeting wasn’t expected until July 16th.  Needless to say I was happy.  I immediately began to think about what I would say and what documents I would bring.  I allowed myself to get my hopes up thinking about the idea of me getting out of here, off to ERP and getting on with my life.  I wasn’t getting anxious really.  I’ve learned not to waste energy on fruitless worrying. The next morning after count I got my paperwork together, and waited to be called.  About 10 am I was sent to the main building where I was sent in.  There was 3 people in the room, a lady with curly hair who clearly was in charge, a man who was just cracking open a yogurt, and a captain (A guard supervisor).  We discussed why I was in prison.  I advised I’d already completed 25% of my initial confinement, it was my first time in prison, and that my cancer  was now in remission.  The curly haired lady excused herself to contact HSU to verify I was ok to go to ERP.  While she was gone, the captain discussed my life prior to prison.  After she returned, she advised that I’d been accepted into ERP and I would have a bed at the Milwaukee Secure Detention Facility (MSDF) ERP program on December 13th but I couldn’t leave for that facility until November.  Wait a minute I said.  MSDF is a medium/max facility.  Why would I be sent there?  She said MSDF had a minimum security wing  She gave me a form to sign agreeing to enter the program.  My head was spinning.  I signed the form and gave it to the receptionist.  I returned to my cell and began to think about this.  I’m stuck here at JCI another 5 months.  No one here in my unit believes there is a minimum wing at MSDF.  At minimum, I have another year to go.  I will have done 26 months, 66% of my possible time.

This obviously is not the outcome I’d hoped for.  I’d hoped to get minimum and be gone in a month.  Probably too much to hope for.  First things first, I wrote a request to PRC to verify there is actually a minimum security wing at MSDF.  I don’t want to go back to a maximum security lockdown situation like I had at Dodge Correctional Institution or at Waukesha County Jail.  Period.  I just can’t imagine them putting me back in that environment again.  I’ve proven I’m not dangerous or hard to manage so why would they?  But I’m going to make sure regardless.  Obviously too, I have to find a way to get through the next 5 months.

Well at least the waiting is over.  At least I know what is going to happen.  I’m sorry.  I’m going to need some time to get myself thinking right with this.  I’m sure I’ll get it.  It’ll just take some acceptance.

Leave a Reply

